Cystic Fibrosis News Today Forums Forums Support Groups Adults​ ​With​ ​CF How Do You Handle Criticism About Your Health?

• How Do You Handle Criticism About Your Health?

Posted by bailey-anne-vincent on January 8, 2020 at 2:52 pm

QUESTION: How do you handle criticism about your health and body?

I wrote a column discussing my anxiety with encountering trolls online, and can’t help but wonder… how does one become a troll? Do trolls even know they’re trolls?

In my case, the most negative people are often those that are also sick, despite assuming we’d be the most compassionate. We should know, above everyone else, that no one experiences sickness or its impacts in the same way. And, frankly, no one should.

So why do we all criticize one another for being even the slightest bit different? What has that ever achieved in the history of achievements?

Even so, we are all entitled to our opinion. Heck, if someone said I’m a terrible writer, or bad dancer, or had questionable bone structure, or use too many ellipses… I would understand their right to these feelings. However, when someone attacks another for their actual biology- their genetic material and mass- I don’t really get the point?

Can I take that critique and fix my DNA? Nope. Can I make you feel better about what I can’t control (my body), which in no way impacts you and your body? Not really.

I would much rather be disliked for the great many things I need to work on and improve (ellipses not withstanding), than for the matter that doesn’t really matter to most.

What about you?

wjones3044 replied 4 years, 3 months ago 3 Members · 3 Replies
  • 3 Replies
  • paul-met-debbie

January 11, 2020 at 7:56 am