USACFA Extends Spring 2018 Lauren Melissa Kelly Scholarship Deadline

Patrícia Silva, PhD avatar

by Patrícia Silva, PhD |

Share this article:

Share article via email
Vertex agreements

The 2018 spring scholarship application deadline for the United States Adult Cystic Fibrosis Association (USACFA)‘s Lauren Melissa Kelly Scholarship program has been extended to Nov. 15, 2017.

The scholarships, awarded each spring and fall semester, are open to adults with cystic fibrosis (CF) who are pursuing career certifications, associates, bachelor, and graduate degrees.

The 2018 spring scholarship application deadline was extended an extra month from the original Oct. 15 date to give more people the chance to apply, the USACFA recently announced.

The scholarships are named after Lauren Melissa Kelly, who was a “spontaneous, fun, driven, thoughtful, kind and loving girl who lost her battle with CF late in her senior year, at the University of Georgia,” her mother Nancy Wech said.

In recognition of her academic achievements, Lauren’s degree of Bachelor of Science in Family and Consumer Sciences was awarded posthumously.

The scholarships were created in her memory as Lauren felt the most important opportunities of her college career had included participation in the reconstruction and formation of organizations that serve the university today.

“The USACFA proudly offers the Lauren Melissa Kelly scholarship to students with cystic fibrosis pursuing higher education. By providing this scholarship in memory of Ms. Kelly, who had a zest for learning and for life, we hope to encourage all students with CF to believe in their futures, pursue their professional goals, and to live fulfilled lives despite the disease. Our goal is to enable students to do so by lessening financial burdens and constraints, that having CF alone already places upon them,” Ella Balasa, from CF Roundtable, the website for USACFA, told Cystic Fibrosis News Today.

Read the scholarship announcement on the CF Roundtable website to find out about eligibility criteria, application requirements, and the application form and instructions.

All requirements must be submitted in PDF or similar formats to [email protected] by midnight, November 15, 2017, if you wish to apply for the 2018 spring semester.

The USACFA announced earlier this year that Jacob Greene of Bellevue, Washington, and Elizabeth Shea of Weston, Florida, were selected as the fall 2017 Lauren Melissa Kelly Scholarship recipients,

Greene is a freshman at Stanford University in Palo Alto, California. Shea is a junior at Stetson University School of Music.