Cystic Fibrosis News Today Forums Forums Support Groups Mental Health Columnist Writes About Slowing Down

• Columnist Writes About Slowing Down

Posted by kevin-schaefer on April 29, 2020 at 7:00 am

Hey everyone! Hope you all are doing well.

Check out this column from Brad, which came out earlier this year. Oddly enough, Brad wrote this right before the COVID-19 pandemic forced everyone to stay home and slow down. How’s that for irony?

That said, this is an extremely poignant column. Like Brad, I’ve been a lot healthier in recent years, and I can relate to the notion of “making up for lost time.” Sometimes, slowing down is the hardest thing to do.

This passage sticks out to me: “For three years, I lived fast, uncertain of how many days I’d have left. Today, 37 months after my lung transplant, I think I’ve made up for 23 years of missed experiences. (Then again, maybe that never should have been the goal.) I think I can slow down and appreciate what’s been and is being accomplished rather than blur past it all.”

Do you have any takeaways from this column? Can you relate to the notion of trying to make up for time when you were sick and hospitalized?

paul-met-debbie replied 3 years, 10 months ago 0 Member · 0 Replies
  • 0 Replies
  • paul-met-debbie

May 4, 2020 at 9:30 am

https://cysticfibrosisnewstoday.com/forums/forums/topic/columnist-writes-about-slowing-down/
    https://cysticfibrosisnewstoday.com/2020/02/11/steroid-withdrawal-slowing-down-pace-fatigue-awareness/
    You are the fullness of life!
    It is good to hear that Brad has found out the beauty of slowing down. Most people, irrespective of their health condition, are victim to the conditioning of this (western – but it has spread almost all over the planet unfortunately) society. The conditioning that urges us to be active, to Do, instead of to Be and to find the beauty of stillness.