Cystic Fibrosis News Today Forums Forums Support Groups Adults​ ​With​ ​CF Intersectionality and CF — how does identity affect your CF experience?

• Intersectionality and CF — how does identity affect your CF experience?

Posted by jenny-livingston on June 10, 2021 at 10:35 am

As I’ve probably mentioned before, I studied Psychology and Sociology in school. Some of my very favorite courses examined intersectionality and the many ways in which our lives are impacted by our varying, overlapping identities and experiences (things like race, gender, religion, sexual orientation, class, etc.).

In recent days, as we’ve discussed Trikafta accessibility and how it varies by country, I’ve been thinking about how our individual experiences with CF differ so greatly, and how any number of factors can influence outcomes. For instance, surely Bailey and I have different CF and healthcare experiences because she is deaf and am not. A person in South America who has limited access to even basic CF care will have a very different experience than my own. Someone in the States who does not speak English may struggle to navigate the healthcare system due to a language barrier, whereas I do not have that same experience. A person who is transgender would certainly have different experiences from my own and may face prejudices or misunderstandings that affect their CF care.

So, I’m curious… is there any piece of your identity or life circumstance that has influenced your care or experiences with CF? (I don’t mean in the way that we are all individual and conceptualize/experience the world in different ways. I’m specifically wondering about these social categorizations or hierarchical classifications that can influence the way people and institutions of the world receive us. I hope you’ll humor my sociological approach to this question 😃)

paul-met-debbie replied 2 years, 10 months ago 1 Member · 1 Reply
  • 1 Reply
  • paul-met-debbie

June 13, 2021 at 1:27 pm