• paul-met-debbie

March 9, 2020 at 10:53 am

Well, I am retired now, but I used to be a teacher at the university. I never cared much about money, status etc., but learning and teaching (they are the same actually, learning is teaching yourself) always attracted me. I went to law school because I like to play with language, and even while I was still doing my university study, I was also teaching as student-teacher. Which was very convenient, because I had to finance most of the education myself.

Cf had its role in my career choice also, because I soon realized that I would not want to burden my body with a job that would have unlimited working hours and a lot of unpredictable stress. So when I had my law degree, I did not want to be in litigation as a lawyer, nor did I want to go into business. And because I wanted to keep learning and teaching, I became assistant professor at the university which was a great job. I also could have gone into law-making, but the teaching job felt a bit more dynamic, working with young people with flexible working hours.