Cystic Fibrosis News Today Forums Forums Welcome Lounge Introductions Here Is Why I’m A Little Scared To Introduce Myself…

• Here Is Why I’m A Little Scared To Introduce Myself…

Posted by bailey-anne-vincent on December 3, 2019 at 10:55 am

I want to introduce myself as a new Moderator here on CF News Today… But where do I even begin?

I’m a columnist and a former journalist (you can see my columns here). I try to be an advocate for “Life in the grey” (living with CFTRD … Yes, I’m part of that rogue 10%!) I am a professional dancer and Artistic Director of a body-positive dance company (http://www.companythreesixty.org).

But here’s my confession: I’m a little nervous about this new job! I’m nervous because this community can be both beautiful and intimidating. Inclusive yet competitive. Connected yet isolating.

So, here’s my thought, in order to get to know one another better and disprove some of my own misbegotten fears: How about we each share one of the most beautiful or surprising stories that has come out of being connected to this community?

Here’s mine: One of my close friends April passed this year leaving two daughters and a lot of heartbroken friends behind. She was a generous, giving, once-in-a-lifetime sort of soul, though we never truly “met”. At her funeral, her husband actually included my fallible words about her on the ceremony program (which now hangs forever in my home). For all the dreams I had as a writer growing up, and all the jobs (like this one) I had hoped to have… I never imagined that the greatest honor of my lifetime will forever be that. No award, or book, or position will compare. Having my words mean anything- anything at all- in the passage of her life, and the purpose of her family, means more than anything else ever will.

jenny-livingston replied 4 years, 4 months ago 2 Members · 1 Reply
  • 1 Reply
  • jenny-livingston

December 4, 2019 at 10:35 am