• If You Could Do It All Again….

Posted by bailey-anne-vincent on October 16, 2020 at 11:24 am

To close out our week of childhood themed questions, here’s a big one:

If you could go back to school for anything, what would it be?

This of course assumes you were able to go to college for something to begin with, or that you’d want to go again. Another way of looking at this question could be: “What did you want to be growing up?” but I know we’ve asked that before.

If I could go back and study something totally different (I studied Sociology and Psychology, and happily would again), and not have it be writing or dance (my obvious, obsessive interests), I think it would be something to do with marine biology. I’ve always been obsessed with the ocean and preservation, and especially my “mental mascot” the jellyfish.

As a kid, I always said I wanted to be a vet, and basically, I just love working with and caring for animals and learning every little fact about them. But since I’m terrible with blood and guts, I think caring for oceanic animals at a rehabilitative center of sorts (or an educational aquarium) would be amazing. I also love talking to crowds and teaching, so doing tours or engaging with schools in that way would be even better.

What about you?

paul-met-debbie replied 3 years, 6 months ago 3 Members · 2 Replies
  • 2 Replies
  • jenny-livingston

October 16, 2020 at 1:54 pm

This is either going to freak you out or make you laugh and say, “Of course.” The similarities between us are sometimes eerie! As a child, I hoped to one day become a dolphin trainer at Sea World. After that, I dreamed of spending months at a time at sea as a marine biologist. Realizing that wasn’t a job conducive to family life, I thought being a vet would be the best career for me. This was what I dreamed of for years! (Turns out, I did none of the above.)